Guitar!

Through time personal expression has been an important element of human kind and music has been one of the best way to express the emotions and feelings of a person. This is the sole reason why I am indulging into learning the guitar. Every person in the world has a way to get his frustration out of his body, find his inspiration and relax. Some cook, some read and some do gardening, for me the pleasure lies solely in trying to play the guitar. Although im still learning the instrument I feel that it has become a part of me as it helps me everyday. When I’m angry or frustrated the guitar puts my mind to ease as I create music that defines how I feel and with that I let go of my anger. When im stuck in a difficult situation I hold my guitar and play whatever my fingers would let me and with that come the answers that were so difficult to find. My music is my soul and has helped me throughout time to be a better person. Learning the guitar and playing music is my way of expression and so has been the best way for me to grow, spiritually and mentally.

The guitar is an ancient and noble instrument, whose history can be traced back over 4000 years. Many theories have been advanced about the instrument’s ancestry. It has often been claimed that the guitar is a development of the lute, or even of the ancient Greek kithara. The oldest known iconographical representation of an instrument displaying all the essential features of a guitar is a stone carving at Alaca Huyuk in Turkey, of a 3300 year old Hittite “guitar” with “a long fretted neck, flat top, probably flat back, and with strikingly incurved sides”.the guitar’s ancestors came to Europe from Egypt and Mesopotamia. These early instruments had, most often, four strings – as we have seen above, the word “guitar” is derived from the Old Persian “chartar”, which, in direct translation, means “four strings”. Many such instruments, and variations with from three to five strings, can be seen in mediaeval illustrated manuscripts, and carved in stone in churches and cathedrals, from Roman times through till the Middle Ages.

Halima Sahid.

Posted on March 29, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

