Donning Young Adulthood

Life has just begun. The past year has been full of surprises, ups and downs and loads of fun all because of me starting my University life, finally! Even though there are days when I dread going to the building situated amongst fields, called Lahore School of Economics, everyday has its own charm.

I still remember the first day I was to go to LSE. My stomach was a mush, my mind was a conjuring up twisted thoughts that made me want to scream and run away from what was going to come. My parents, oblivious to my situation, were beaming at me proudly. They were overjoyed to see their eldest child starting a whole new chapter of her life! Their words of encouragement were drowned by the pessimist inside of me. Feeling completely lost and small I entered the front gates. Fortunately a friend of mine was already there. However, the happiness soon vanished as a huge group of seniors surrounded us, eyeing our bags, ready to rag us. The experience of being ragged would remain etched in my memories forever. Then, there was this other dilemma; no one I knew was in my section. They were all new faces, aliens. However, I became friends with them quickly and soon we were having the time of our lives.

425912_10151277879755134_485197107_n

Coming from an all-girls school, interacting with boys was something new and different. I must say in this past one year I have become quite confident and more at ease as I was before. Another new experience was going out. Never had I gone out with friends during school years. Sure we had gone to each other’s place, but never for an outing. The first time I went out with friends from LSE was to BRB. It was a memorable day, perhaps because I was thrilled by this new found freedom! To my surprise, my parents were alright with me going out with friends as long as I told them exactly where I was going!

Then there was the looming terror of presentations. Teachers who were sweet and kind throughout the beginning became extremely serious when it came to presentations and submissions of projects. The first time I presented felt like death. I was numb; all my feelings were cut off. My legs felt like lead and my tongue felt like sand paper! I couldn’t even mouth the words properly and overall it was the worst experience of my life! However, the good thing about LSE is that you get so many presentations and projects that after a semester or two, you become so used to them that it feels like nothing. However, to be honest I am still getting the hang of controlling my nervousness and tensions when it comes to all this.

562193_10151532480745134_1504274313_n

The past one year has groomed me into becoming a well-balanced person. Not only have I become responsible and confident, university has taught me to stand on my own feet and face the world myself. Before this I was in a much protected environment and under the shelter of my parents. LSE has taught me how to face challenges and be ready for anything that comes my way.

I believe university is a platform that helps you get ready for the real world out there. It makes you able to succeed in life, not only professionally but in every aspect of your life. The different people you interact with, the different situations you go through are all experiences that hone you and make you understand your purpose in life. You tend to understand your worth as well as those around you and you learn how to survive.

603137_10151477003101844_995103521_n

Although only a year has gone by, I have learnt so much from my mistakes and of my friends. I have learned to value time, something I had never done before and a sense of competing against my fellow classmates, which was never there before, has risen inside me. I would always remember these days and cherish them all my life.

 

Posted on March 27, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

